TTUHSC Research

news & announcements...



Dr. Sharma S. Prabhakar Dr. Susan E. Bergeson Dr. Brandt L. Schneider Dr. Kendra Rumbaugh Dr. Afzal A. Siddiqui Dr. Ruth Perez Dr. Quentin Smith Dr. Paula Grammas Dr. Luis G. Cuello Dr. Guillermo Altenberg

TTUHSC Receives National Grant
Professor Afzal A. Siddiqui Receives Grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation - (click here for more info)

New NIH Award to Dr. Michaela Jansen

Dr. Jansen's laboratory has a long-standing interest in studying pentameric ligand-gated ion channels. These receptors are targeted by a multitude of clinically used drugs that include antidepressants, antiepileptics, antiemetics, antipsychotics, anesthetics, muscle relaxants, spasmolytics, tranquillizers, and drugs for the treatment of substance abuse. They also represent novel therapeutic targets to treat inflammatory diseases like atherosclerosis, Alzheimer's, diabetes, inflammatory bowel disease, and sepsis.  She recently received an R01 award from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke to investigate the structure and function of the so-far neglected intracellular domain with the goal to evaluate this domain as a new drug target that can then be utilized to design innovative therapeutic drugs with improved selectivity.

 The Research Department is the primary resource and catalyst for advancing research at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Our mission is to promote and support research by providing high quality service to investigators, foster new research initiatives, promote the prevention of disease and the treatment of illness, motivate and educate future leaders in health sciences, and serve as an advocate for the value of research in an educational setting.

We provide leadership, direction, and management of research administration, infrastructure and services, and oversee the operations of the following areas: Office of Research, Research Integrity Office (RIO), Laboratory Animal Services Center (LARC) and the Office of Sponsored Programs (OSP).