TTUHSC School of Pharmacy

news & announcements...


The Doctor of Pharmacy Program of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy is accredited to June 30, 2020 by:


Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education

135 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 4100
Chicago, IL 60603
(312) 664-3575
FAX (312) 664-4652
web site:


On-Time Graduation Rate (4 academic years) 86% Class of 2015
NAPLEX 1st Time Passing Rate 95% Academic Yr 2014-2015
Third Year Drug Knowledge Assessment Exam Passing Rate 99% Class of 2015


School of Pharmacy

The Texas Legislature established the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Pharmacy (SOP) in 1993. The enabling legislation specified that the SOP be located on the TTUHSC campus in Amarillo to meet the needs of the 108 West Texas counties that make up Texas Tech's service region and the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex.

In May 1996, the main SOP campus building opened on a parcel of land located within Amarillo's Harrington Regional Medical Center. The facility was constructed using approximately $13M of public and private funds raised in the Texas Panhandle. The first classes were held in August 1996.

In 1997 the School implemented Graduate Pharmacy Education (Residencies). A Master of Sciences (M.S.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Pharmaceutical Sciences program was added in 1999. The School has also expanded its program to regional campuses located in Lubbock (1998), the Dallas/Ft. Worth Metroplex (1999) and Abilene (2007). With the expansion, students today have several paths from which to choose.

All first- and second-year courses must be completed at the main campus in Amarillo or at the Abilene regional campus. Students may then choose to remain in Amarillo or Abilene for their third and fourth years, or they may elect to complete their Pharm.D. at either the Lubbock or Dallas/Fort Worth regional campus.