TTUHSC Alumni Relations
HomeAlumni RelationsDistinguished Alumni Nominations

Distinguished Alumni

2015 Presidential Distinguished Alumni Award

Vice Admiral Raquel BonoThis year, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center introduces its inaugural Presidential Distinguished Alumni Award, the highest honor bestowed to an alumna/alumnus by the university. This prestigious award recognizes the outstanding achievements of a TTUHSC graduate.

Congratulations to our first recipient Vice Admiral Raquel C. Bono (’83).

Bono is director of the Defense Health Agency (DHA) at the Defense Health Headquarters in Falls Church, Virginia. She leads the joint, integrated Combat Support Agency providing medical services for all military branches to ensure a medically ready military and a prepared medical force in peacetime and wartime. Bono also oversees the administration of the TRICARE Health Plan, providing worldwide medical, dental and pharmacy programs to more than 9.4 million uniformed service members, retirees and their families. Also, DHA directs the execution of multiple joint shared services including health information technology, research and acquisition, education and training, public health, medical logistics, facility management, budget resource management, and contracting. READ MORE


2015 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

In 1999, the Office of Alumni Relations began to recognize our alumni to honor their accomplishments and contributions and to serve as an inspiration to their colleagues and future alumni.

The Distinguished Alumni Awards are presented to those alumni who have achieved a high level of success in their chosen fields or whose efforts have made a positive impact on community or humanity, bringing distinction to themselves and to Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

We encourage alumni, faculty, staff and friends to nominate deserving alumni for these awards.

Past Distinguished Alumni Awardees

To learn more about the winners, click on their photos or names to read their bios.

School of Health Professions

image of Brent Hester       image of Carla Mahan      image of Ryan Schmidt    Image of Jason Stark  

        Brent Hester ('03)                     Carla Mahan ('87)              Maj. Ryan Schmidt ('10)           Jason Stark ('99)


School of Medicine

Image of Sue Bornstein       image of Tom Fogarty       

      Sue Bornstein ('92)                   Tom Fogarty ('80)        


School of Nursing                                                                School of Pharmacy                 

image of Valerie Kiper   Image of Ruan Reast                                           image of Carlos Alvarez

      Valerie Kiper ('13)               Ruan Reast ('84, '83)                                                  Carlos Alvarez ('04)