TTUHSC Faculty Senate
HomeFaculty Senate

Faculty Senate - Welcome

old books

The Faculty Senate is the governance body for Faculty in the Schools of Health Professions, Medicine, Nursing and Pharmacy at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences (TTUHSC). The purpose of the Faculty Senate is to promote interaction and collaboration between the members of the Faculty of all schools as well as to represent the faculty as an advisory body to the TTUHSC President on common issues affecting institutional governance, the Faculty and the Faculty's responsibilities in teaching, practice, research, and service.

The Faculty Senate is composed of equal representation from the Faculty of all schools and will consider issues pertaining to individual schools as well as those common to all HSC Faculty. Individual Faculty members, Faculty governance committees and the Deans of any of the TTUHSC Schools together with the TTUHSC President may bring matters of concern to the attention of the Senate.

Serving as the collective voice of the Faculty, the Faculty Senate seeks to participate in helping the TTUHSC achieve its mission of becoming a top-tier institution.

Vision Statement

Your life, our purpose.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Faculty Senate is to represent the faculty in the shared governance of TTUHSC.  We will:

  • Assure academic freedom.
  • Enhance the environment for creativity in teaching, research, service, and patient care.
  • Effectively communicate among faculty, student, staff and administration.  


Faculty Senate Meetings

News & Announcements

Regular meetings:

Beginning with AY 11, meeting will be held the first Friday of each month

Faculty Senate Next meeting:

August 7, 2015

  • Lubbock:  1C110A

     12:00 Noon – 1:20 pm;

  • Abilene:  ABSOP 2300

     12:00 Noon – 1:20 pm;

  • Amarillo: AMHSC 4717

     12:00 Noon – 1:20 pm;

  • Dallas: DLSPVA 200A

     12:00 Noon – 1:20 pm;

  • El Paso: EPASB 1102

     11:00 AM – 12:20 pm

  • Midland: MDPA B11.

     12:00 Noon – 1:20 pm

  • Odessa: ODHSC 2C12

     12:00 Noon – 1:20 pm

General Faculty Meetings (days subject to change):

Fall meeting: Second Wednesday in October

Spring meeting: Second Wednesday in April


 Next Meeting - Spring 2015  will be held on Thursday, April 16  at the locations shown below:

Abilene – ABSOP 1130

Amarillo – AMSOP 335

Dallas – DLSPSW 450

Dallas – DLSPSW 100

El Paso – EPAEC 235

Lubbock – ACB 220

Midland – MDPA B01A

Odessa - 2C41


Current Academic Year Senators



Campus or Site

Robert Posteraro Allied Health Lubbock
Leigh Ann Real Allied Health Lubbock
Sandra Whisner Allied Health Lubbock
Sitratullah Maiyegun Foster School of Medicine El Paso
Dale Quest Foster School of Medicine El Paso
Susan Watts Foster School of Medicine El Paso
Raed Alalawi Medicine Lubbock
Michael Blanton Medicine Lubbock
Michaela Jansen Medicine Lubbock
Daniel M. Hardy Immediate Past President Lubbock
Vardan Karamayan Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Amarillo
Raul Martinez-Zaguilan Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Lubbock
Lizabeth Berkeley Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing El Paso
Jennifer Whitaker-Ware Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing El Paso
To be Announced Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing El Paso
Amy Moore Nursing Lubbock
Elaine Hillin Nursing Lubbock
Mary Rogge Nursing Lubbock
Fakhrul Ahsan Pharmacy Amarillo
Monica Mathys Pharmacy Dallas
Margaret Weis Pharmacy Amarillo
Regional Campus Representative(s) - Abilene
Mark Lyte Pharmacy
Regional Campus Representative(s) - Amarillo
Paul Tullar Medicine
Regional Campus Representative(s) - Dallas
Monica Mathys Pharmacy
Regional Campus Representative(s) - Permian Basin (Midland/Odessa)
Jamal Islam Medicine - Odessa
Shailesh (Bobby) Jain Medicine - Midland

Senator Contact information is located on the Members page and by clicking here:   Links to Senator page