Research Days Image

Research Days Information

This event will return in 2020. 

This annual event is a wonderful opportunity for School of Pharmacy's Faculty, Post-Doctoral Research Associates, Graduate students, Residents, and Pharm.D. students to come together from all four campuses to talk about research and build collaborations and friendships. Research Days consists of poster competitions, keynote addresses, podium presentations on current research, breakout sessions, and the annual dinner.

Administrative support for this event is handled by the Office of Sciences staff.  The program schedule is handled by the Research Advisory Committee and the School of Pharmacy's Office of Sciences.

For questions please email: 

Registration and Abstract Links:



9:30 am:     Registration and Poster Mounting

10:45 am:   Opening Ceremony

11:00 am:   Keynote Speaker - Diana Sobieraj, Pharm.D.

12:00 pm:   Best Abstract Research Platform Presentation- First Session

  • 12:00 - Fatema Zahra, Graduate Student
  • 12:15 - Alexander Le, Pharm.D Student

12:30 pm:  Lunch

1:30 pm:    Concurrent Session

Track 1: Breakout Choice 1
Session Chair: Dr. Ronald

HallConducting Systematic Reviews / Meta-analyses

  • Literature Evaluation


Visiting Faculty:
Dr. Suphat Subongkot
Clinical Pharmacy Division
Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Khon Kaen University, Thailand
“Pharmacologic interventions for cachexia: A systematic review and network meta-analysis”

Dr. Diana Sobieraj
Dr. Suphat Subongkot
Dr. Ronald Hall

Track 2: Breakout Choice 2
Session Chair: Dr. Sanjay K. Srivastava

• 1:30 pm - Distinguished Speaker:
Guillermo Altenberg, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Cell Physiology and
Molecular Biophysics
TTUHSC School of Medicine – Lubbock
“A New Use of Aminoglycoside Antibiotics as Inhibitors of Connexin Hemichannels for the Treatment of Cardiac Infarcts and other Disorders”

• 2:30 pm - Inovation Speaker:
David E.Snow, Ph.D.
Patent Agent and Sr. Managing Director
Office of Research Commercialization
“Engaging the New Innovation Ecosystem at TTUS”

3:00 pm:    Coffee Break

3:10 pm:    Poster Judge Meeting

3:30 pm:     Poster Session #1 and Judging

5:00 pm:    Afternoon Presentations - 2017 Seed Grant Award Grantees

  • 5:00 pm - Constantinos Mikelis, Ph.D.
  • 5:30 pm - Young Lee, Pharm.D.
  • 6:00 pm - Abraham Al-Ahmad, Ph.D.

6:30 pm:    Cocktails and Open Poster Viewing

7:15 pm:    Annual Dinner - Amarillo Civic Center Heritage Room

The Annual Dinner will be held at the Amarillo Civic Center Heritage Room on Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 7:15 pm. This event is for all attending the School of Pharmacy's Annual Research Days conference.  For those who wish to bring a companion to the annual dinner the cost will be $36.00. Payments can be sent to the Office of Sciences at the address below. Please make check out to "TTUHSC School of Pharmacy".  Payments can also be taken during the event registration on the first day of the conference.

Event Location:
Amarillo Civic Center Heritage Room, 401 S. Buchanan St

Send Guest Payments to:
Attn: Office of Sciencs Staff
1406 Coulter St, ARB
Amarillo, TX 79106

8:30 am:     Coffee and Breakfast Taco Bar

9:00 am:     Poster Session #2 and Judging

10:30 am:   Keynote Speaker - Mark W. Feinberg, M.D.

11:30 am:   Best Abstract Research Platform Presentations - Second Session

  • 11:30 am - Nehal Gupta, Graduate Student
  • 11:45 am - Hannah Lenamon, PGY1 Resident

12:00 pm:   Lunch

1:00 pm:     Concurrent Session #2

Choice 1:
Session Chair- Dr. Sara Brouse
Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice –Abilene

• 1:00pm -- Educational Research
Keynote - Rebecca Hite, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, TTU School of Education
“Learning in the Digital Age: Educational Research on Innovative Technologies -- 3-D, Haptic-Enabled (HE), and VR Technologies”

Choice 2:
Session Chair - Dr. Luca Cucullo
Associate Professor, Department of
Pharmaceutical Sciences - Amarillo

• 1:00pm Distinguished Speaker 
Dr. Susan E. Bergeson
Associate Dean - Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, and Associate Professor -Department of
Pharmacology & Neuroscience, TTUHSC, Lubbock
“Medications Development for Alcohol Use Disorder”

2:00 pm:     Concurrent Session #3

Track #3: Collaborative Research within the School of Pharmacy

  • 2:00 pm – 2:15pm – ALL ATTENDEES in Main Auditorium
    Brief presentation of an example of collaborative research & scholarship in the school then proceed to Choice 1, 2, or 3:

CHOICE 1: 2:15 PM
Collaborative Research
Main Auditorium

Collaboration in Research Forum for Faculty in All Departments

Cardiovascular/ Vascular Disease/Metabolic
Dr. Luca Cucullo,
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

• Cancer/Immunotherapy
Dr. Kalkunte Srivenugopal,
Department of
Pharmaceutical Sciences

• Neurosciences
Dr. Vardan Karamyan,
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

• Regenerative Medicine
Dr. Hiranmoy Das, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

CHOICE 2:  2:15 PM
Beneficial for Graduate Students

Dr. Susan Bergeson,
Associate Dean – TTUHSC Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, and Associate Professor – Department of Pharmacology & Neuroscience

Professional Development Session

  • How to write an effective CV, Interviewing Skills
  • Career paths after graduation: Academia vs Industry?

CHOICE 3:  2:15 PM
Beneficial for Residents
and Junior Faculty

Dr. Winter Smith, Pharm.D., BCPS

Professional Development Session

  • How to develop a manuscript from your research project; journal selection; making the most of your project (pubs)
  • How to review an abstract or paper for a journal

3:00 pm:    Awards Ceremony (Attendance required in order to receive award)

3:30 pm:    Poster Removal


Got Questions?

We're here to help. Contact us if you have questions.

Office of Sciences
1406 S. Coulter St.
Amarillo, TX 79106

Email Us at: 

Updated 3/26/2019

Placeholder image


Optional subheading text

View more
Placeholder image


Optional subheading text

View more

Got Questions?

We're here to help. Contact us if you have questions.

John Doe

(555) 555 - 5555

example image

Spotlight Example Header

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat.