TTUHSC Executive Vice President and Provost
HSC Home
Gender Specific Medicine &
Women's Health Symposium
Highlighting research and education in the areas of
women's health, sex and gender differences

Women's Health

October 24, 2014
9:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
3601 4th Street, Lubbock Texas
Academic Classroom Building
Room 100

Presented by

TTUHSC Office of the President & Office of the Provost
in collaboration with Laura W. Bush Institute for Women's Health

TTUHSC will host its third research and education conference focusing on women's health and sex and gender differences. This conference will highlight research and scholarships performed by faculty throughout the many schools and campuses of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Faculty, residents and students from all schools and campuses are encouraged to submit research and scholarship works for this exciting symposium.

Keynote speakers include national women's health and sex and gender experts:

Gillian Einstein
Gillian Einstein, Ph.D.

Dr. Einstein is a University of Toronto neuroscientist in the Department of Psychology, working primarily in the fields of neurodegenerative disease, cognitive neuroscience and sex-based biology. Her laboratory work and scientific publications have been in vision, memory and Alzheimer’s disease.

Geert De Vries
Geert De Vries, Ph.D.

Dr. de Vries is an NIH-funded professor at Georgia State University’s Neuroscience Institute. He claims to be hooked on studying sex differences with a focus on cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying the sexual differentiation. He has vast knowledge in functional consequences of sex differences in the brain.

View Submitted Abstracts

2014 eBook

Travel Stipends for
Oral and Poster Presenters

Campus Maximum
El Paso $250 per person
Amarillo $100 per person
Permian Basin $100 per person
Online Registration
(No Cost to Register)
October 24, 2014







*Required Fields



Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

Credit Designation

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center designates this live activity for a maximum of 4.75 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.