TTUHSC Quality Enhancement Plan

President's Student Scholar in Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice


The Quality Enhancement Plan Office wishes to congratulate the following students as being selected as a President's Student Scholar in Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice:

Fall 2013:

  • Faraz Harsini, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (Lubbock)
  • Casey Potysman, School of Health Professions (Amarillo)
  • Justin Bishop, School of Medicine (Lubbock)
  • Vi Bui, School of Pharmacy (Amarillo)

Spring 2013:

  • Michael Song - Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (Lubbock)
  • Adam C. Hughes - School of Health Professions (Amarillo)
  • Shamini Parameswaran - School of Medicine (Lubbock)
  • Madeline Lennard - School of Nursing (Lubbock)
  • Kevin Aloysius - School of Pharmacy (Dallas)




To develop a cadre of students from Health Professions, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Graduate Biomedical Sciences who are committed to interprofessional education and actively engaged in collaborative projects and practice. The scholarship program will provide students an opportunity to lead interprofessional activities beyond those offered in their academic curriculum.


Interprofessional education - "When students from two or more professions learn about, from and with each other to enable effective collaboration and improve health outcomes.” (WHO, 2010)

Interprofessional collaborative practice - "When multiple health workers from different professional backgrounds work together with patients, families, carers, and communities to deliver the highest quality of care.” (WHO, 2010)


  1. Student currently enrolled at TTUHSC.
  2. Good academic standing and in compliance with TTUHSC Code of Professional and Academic Conduct (Student Affairs Handbook).
  3. Current member of the Interprofessional Ambassadors Student Organization.
  4. By submission of the application, students are agreeing to commit the effort needed to fulfill the specified scholar requirements.



  • A total of five (5) scholarships will be offered, one from each school (Health Professions, Biomedical Sciences, Medicine, Nursing, and Pharmacy).
  • Selection will be based on an application that includes an essay.
    • Confirmation of the minimum requirements will be verified by each school.
    • Applicants who do not meet the minimum requirements will be deemed ineligible.
    • All essays will be blind reviewed by both a school representative and an interprofessional committee designated by the President of TTUHSC.
    • Once the blind review is completed and tabulated, a meeting (with school representative and the interprofessional committee present) will be held to discuss the results and select best candidates.  
    • Recommendation from the above meeting will be submitted to the President’s Office for final selection. 
  • Scholarships are awarded based on specific criteria and available funds.
  • TTUHSC is an Equal Opportunity Employer and no applicant will be discriminated against because of race, creed, religion, disability, sex, national origin or sexual orientation, during the course of education or employment at this institution.
  • Email Application to:

    Dr. Sharon Decker, QEP Director


  • Selected students will be given a $1000 stipend in exchange for a commitment of one academic year to the IPE scholars program. Fifty percent of the stipend will be paid at the beginning of the Fall semester and 50% will be paid at the beginning of the Spring semester.
  • The program is funded and coordinated by the President’s office.
  • Estimated hours of engagement in the scholars program are 4 hours per week.
  • Development and oversight of program activities will be provided by the interprofessional committee composed of representatives from Health Professions, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Biomedical Sciences.
  • Current student scholars will be eligible to reapply each year during their academic career at TTUHSC; the application will be competitive and reacceptance to the program is not guaranteed.
  • Students selected must remain in good standing with their degree.
  • Scholars who complete the program successfully will receive a certification of completion, notation on his/her official transcript, and a designated honors cord to be worn at graduation activities.


Students Scholars will be required to:

  • Actively participate in the IPE scholars monthly meetings and assume a leadership role to guide program activities. The meetings will provide the forum for educational activities (e.g., speakers, presentations by students, case studies, etc.) as well as program planning and development by student scholars.
  • Complete the following IHI Open School for health professions courses;

L 101 So You Want to Be A Leader in Health Care
PS 100: Introduction to Patient Safety
PS 101: Fundamentals of Patient Safety
PS 102: Human Factors and Safety
PS 103: Teamwork and Communication
  • Actively participate in at least two special projects or community activities related to interprofessional education and/or collaborative care such as
    • Workshops and in-services,
    • Annual Interprofessional Fall Symposium,
    • Annual Interprofessional Team Building Experience,
    • Simulation activities,
    • Various patient care delivery systems,
    • Interprofessional Grand Rounds,
    • Research projects,
    • Curricular activities, or
    • The CLARION Competition.
  • Maintain active role in Interprofessional Ambassadors Student Organization.
  • Each cohort will develop, implement, and disseminate an IPE major project that can be utilized for future students and/or healthcare professionals.
  • Upon completion of the program, a summative 3 to 5 page reflection on the experience is required.
Download Application and Rubric