TTUHSC Research
HomeResearch

Quality Improvement


Quality Improvement Review

Students, faculty and staff across TTUHSC are engaging in Quality Improvement (QI) projects that involve the systematic collection and analysis of data and implementation of interventions to improve the quality of clinical care and/or educational programs.  The Quality Improvement Review Board (QIRB) was established to promote the safe and efficient conduct of QI initiatives while also protecting the persons (patients, students, or employees) who are participants in QI interventions.  A formal review process for QI projects will ensure a) data collection and involvement of humans associated with the QI project indeed meet QI standards; and b) the project does not require Institutional Review Board (IRB) review and oversight.


APPLICATION:

QIRB Application


RESOURCES:

FAQs

QI Application Guide

QI vs. Research Chart

QI and Research Example Projects

Ethics Chart

Link to “The Hastings Report on the Ethics of Quality Improvement Studies” 

 

POLICY:

OP 73.18

 

BOARD MEMBERS:

Barbara Cherry, DNSc, MBA, RN, NEA-BC  (Chairperson)  Professor, School of Nursing Lubbock barbara.cherry@ttuhsc.edu
Michael Blanton, PhD Professor, Pharmacology and Neuroscience Lubbock michael.blanton@ttuhsc.edu
Theresa Byrd, RN, Dr.PH Department Chair, Department of Public Health Lubbock theresa.byrd@ttuhsc.edu
Lara Johnson, MD Associate Professor, Pediatrics Lubbock lara.johnson@ttuhsc.edu
Joyce Miller, DNP, RN, WHNP-BC,FNP-BC Associate Professor, School of Nursing Administration Odessa joyce.miller@ttuhsc.edu 
Steven Pass, PharmD Associate Professor, Pharmacy Practice Dallas steven.pass@ttuhsc.edu
Lori Rice-Spearman, PhD, MT, (ASCP) Academic Dean, School of Health Professions Lubbock lori.ricespearman@ttuhsc.edu

  

CONTACT:

Toni Denison, MS, RBP
Director of Quality Improvement
806) 743-4276
QIRB@ttuhsc.edu

©