Quality Improvement Review | Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
TTUHSC students walking through Lubbock campus courtyard.

Quality Improvement Review

Students, faculty and staff across TTUHSC are engaging in Quality Improvement (QI) projects that involve the systematic collection and analysis of data implementation of interventions to improve the quality of clinical care and/or educational programs.  The Quality Improvement Review Board (QIRB) was established to promote the safe and efficient conduct of QI initiatives while also protecting the persons (patients, students, or employees) who are participants in QI interventions.  A formal review process for QI projects will ensure a) data collection and involvement of humans associated with the QI project indeed meet QI standards; and b) the project does not require Institutional Review Board (IRB) review and oversight. 

Contact: 
Toni Denison, MS
Director of Quality Improvement Review
(806) 743-4276
QIRB@ttuhsc.edu


APPLICATION:

QIRB Application


RESOURCES:

The Institute for Healthcare Improvement is the premiere resource for Quality Improvement. You can find free training, educational videos, templates, and many other valuable resources here.

Exemplar Project Applications

FAQs

QI Application Guide

QI vs. Research Chart

QI vs. Research Comparison Example

Ethics Chart

Link to"The Hastings Report on the Ethics of Quality Improvement Studies"


POLICY:

OP 73.18


BOARD MEMBERS:

Cindy Acton, DNP,  RN, NEA-BC (Chairperson) MSN Administraton Program Director Lubbock cindy.acton@ttuhsc.edu
Michael Blanton, PhD Professor, Pharmacology and Neuroscience Lubbock michael.blanton@ttuhsc.edu
Theresa Byrd, RN, Dr.PH Department Chair, Department of Public Health Lubbock theresa.byrd@ttuhsc.edu
Lara Johnson, MD Associate Professor, Pediatrics Lubbock lara.johnson@ttuhsc.edu
Joyce Miller, DNP, RN, WHNP-BC, FNP-BC Associate Professor, School of Nursing Administration Odessa joyce.miller@ttuhsc.edu
Misty Miller, DPT Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy Amarillo misty.miller@ttuhsc.edu
Steven Pass, PharmD Professor, Pharmacy Practice Dallas steven.pass@ttuhsc.edu
Lacy Phillips, DNP, RN, CPHQ Director, Performance Improvement Lubbock lacy.phillips@ttuhsc.edu