School of Health Professions
HomeHealth ProfessionsAdministration


Lori Rice-Spearman

Dr. Lori Rice-Spearman is a University Distinguished Professor and the Dean for the School of Health Professions. She holds a B.S. in Clinical Laboratory Science from TTUHSC, M.S. in Interdisciplinary Sciences and a Ph.D. from Texas Tech University.

Steve Sawyer

Dr. Steven Sawyer is a University Distinguished Professor, Associate Dean for Faculty Development, and Chair of the Department of Rehabilitation Sciences. He holds a Bachelor's of Science from the University of California at Irvine, a Masters of Physical Therapy from Texas Tech University, and a Ph.D in Neuroscience from the University of California at San Diego.

Phil Sizer

Dr. Phil Sizer is a University Distinguished Professor and the Associate Dean For Research. He supports SHP scholarship development and progress, coordinates interdepartmental research, and oversees internal grant activity. He holds a BS in Physical Therapy from UTMB and both MEd and PhD from Texas Tech University, with an emphasis in Sensorimotor Control and Learning. He is an Orthopedic Certified Specialist with the APTA and a Fellow in the American Academy of Orthopedic Manual Physical Therapists..

Lindsay Johnson

Lindsay Johnson is the Associate Dean for Admissions and Student Affairs. She holds a Bachelor's of Science and Master of Education from Texas Tech University.

Wade Redman

Dr. Wade Redman is the Assistant Dean for Educational Technology as well as Chair for the department of Laboratory Sciences and Primary Care. He holds a Bachelor’s of Science in Clinical Laboratory Science from TTUHSC, M.B.A. from Wayland Baptist University, and a Ph.D. from Texas Tech University.

Dawndra Sechrist

Dawndra Sechrist, OTR, PhD is the Assistant Dean of Outcomes and Assessment and an associate professor in the Occupational Therapy Program. In 2006, she earned a PhD from Texas Tech University. Areas of professional practice focus on treating adults with neurological conditions in the acute care setting. Her research interests focus on effective teaching techniques, interprofessional education, and sex and gender-based education.

Micheal West

Micheal West is the Assistant Dean of Finance and Administration. In 1996, he earned a B.B.A in Finance from Texas Tech University.

Ryan N. Schmidt

Dr. Ryan N. Schmidt is an Associate Professor, as well as Chair, for the Department of Healthcare Management and Leadership (HML). He holds a Bachelors of Arts in Philosophy from Montana State University, MA in Industrial/Organizational Psychology from Louisiana Tech University, MS in Logistics and Supply Chain Management from Georgia College and State University, MBA from Brenau University, MS in Clinical Practice Management from TTUHSC, and a Ph.D. in Health Services Policy and Management from the University of South Carolina. Additionally, Dr. Schmidt has complete two Post Doctorate programs: (1) Operations, Logistics & Supply Chain Management – MIT/Zaragoza and (2) AACSB Bridge Program specializing in Management/Marketing and International Business/Entrepreneurship – Warrington College of Business at the University of Florida.

Evans Spears

Dr. Evans Spears is the Chair for the Department of Clinical Counseling and Mental Health. He holds a B.A. in Psychology from Coe College, and M.A. in Rehabilitation Counseling from the University of Iowa, and a Ph.D. in Rehabilitation Education from the University of Arizona.