students on campus
TTUHSC Academic Classroom Building

The 61st Legislature created Texas Tech University School of Medicine in 1969 as a multi-campus institution with Lubbock as an administrative center and regional campuses in Amarillo, El Paso, and Odessa.  Since then, the school has grown into a comprehensive academic health care university and has expanded into Abilene, Dallas, and Midland. Having changed official names in 1979, the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center now consists of schools of medicine, nursing, health professions, pharmacy and biomedical sciences, and serves a population of more than 2 million people dispersed across a vast 108-county area of West Texas.

Meet the Administration


Tedd Mitchell, M.D.

President's Office

The TTUHSC President, Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., is responsible for the management of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and all its schools and departments. The council of deans, presidential staff, and the president's executive council assist in the performance of these duties.



Quote Marks

We have much to be proud of at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. As a relatively young institution, we've already achieved excellence in many areas. We are the premier institution in training health care professionals for West Texas and beyond.

In the past three and half decades, nearly 24,000 students have graduated from TTUHSC. We now graduate more health care professionals than any other health related institution in the state of Texas.

Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D.


Council of Deans

The Council of Deans (COD) is an executive decision-making body comprised of the deans from each of the university's five schools. Meet the Council of Deans.

President's Executive Council

The President's Executive Council (PEC) is the executive advisory council comprised of the university's deans, vice presidents, select senior administrators.  Meet the President's Executive Council.

Regional Leadership

Our regional leadership provides consistency throughout the schools while celebrating the unique character of each campus in Amarillo, Abilene, Dallas, Midland, and Odessa. MORE.

The administrative departments and offices are essential to supporting the operations and mission of the university. They deal with a diverse range of issues including human resources, financial activities, research administration and student affairs.

Departments & Offices