TTUHSC Odessa Campus
HomePermian Basin CampusCommunications & Marketing

Communications & Marketing

Fact Sheet

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) is a part of a seven- campus regional system to serve the greater Permian Basin area with three schools located in the Permian Basin providing higher medical education in Allied Health, Medicine and Nursing.

The TTUHSC at the Permian Basin was established in 1979 and began operations in the basement of Medical Center Hospital.

The School of Allied Health welcomed its first class to the Permian Basin in the fall of 1994. The program offers master's degree programs in physical and athletic training and a bachelor's degree in Emergency Medical Systems Management. The newest edition to the TTUHSC Permian Basin School of Allied Health is the Physician Assistant Program located on the Midland College Campus.

The Texas Tech Health Center opened the doors to its clinics in June of 1999 and provides increased access to primary health care for the Permian Basin. This 81,374 square foot facility houses clinical and patient-related services on the first and second floors and administrative offices and academic programs occupy the third floor. The School of Medicine faculty and residents work in these clinics that consist of six departments: Family and Community Medicine, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics/Gynecology,  Pediatrics, Psychiatry and Surgery.

The School of Nursing in the Permian Basin is committed to providing innovative education, focusing on primary care and rural health, at both the baccalaureate and master's levels.

TTUHSC Permian Basin currently operates 21 WIC clinics located in Andrews, Big Lake, Crane, Ft. Stockton, Kermit, McCamey, Midland, Monahans, Odessa, Ozona, Pecos, Saragosa and Stanton.