TTUHSC School of Pharmacy

Office of Sciences

Office of Sciences Banner


The Mission of the Office of Sciences at the TTUHSC School of Pharmacy is to coordinate the school's research needs with our state-of-the-art scientific and technical support and to promote and accelerate research grant applications and new award set-up. 

Office of Sciences
TTUHSC School of Pharmacy
1406 S. Coulter St.
Amarillo, Texas 79106
Telephone: (806) 414-9328
School of Pharmacy Faculty Contacts  

About Us

The Office of Sciences is available to all faculty on each of the four TTUHSC School of Pharmacy campus sites: Amarillo, Abilene, Dallas/Fort Worth and Lubbock. Our purpose is to act as a resource for the granting process, facilitate research and administer internal research programs.

Programs and Services

The Office of Sciences provides and oversees the following programs and services:

Faculty Honors & Achievements

 Featured Grants - 2017

  • Dr. Ming-Hai Wang Dr. Ming-Hai Wang gave a presentation on June 19, 2016 titled "RON receptor as a target for advanced cancer therapy: from small molecule to antibody-drug conjugate" at Ningbo First Hospital, Zhejiang, China.  
  • Dr. Al-Ahmad Dr. Abraham Al-Ahmad has been accepted for participation in the Early Career Reviewer (ECR) Program at the Center forScientific Review (CSR), National Institutes of Health 
  • Dr. Mikelis Dr. Constantinos Mikelis delivered a presentation at the Northeastern University, Boston on March 24, 2016 titled " The Rho-le of vascular permeability in Inflammatory diseases. 

    Received the Basic Sciences Seed Grant in Summer of 2016 
  • Dr. Karbowniczek Dr. Magdalena Karbowniczek was invited to give a talk titled "Rheb transactivates Notch to maintain multipotent properties of TSC-Null cells" at the University of Trento in Trento, Italy on July 11, 2016.  
  • Dr. MarkiewskiDr. Maciej Markewski delivered a presentation at the Aegean Conference on July 2, 2016 titled "Ribosomal protien S 19 suppresses antitumor immune responses via the complement C5a receptor." 
  • Dr.TrippierDr. Trippier is invited to present a seminar at Discovery on Target, Tackling Rare Diseases Symposia. He is also invited to deliver a talk at Mastering Medicinal Chemistry Symposium in Boston on June 13, 2017 and to serve as session chair for "New targets in CNS diseases, autoimmune diseases, immunology and rare genetic diseases" 
  • SrivastavaDr. Sanjay Srivastava was a Keynote Speaker and Session Chair at the International Conference on Updates in Cancer Prevention and Research, February 14-6, 2017, Lucknow, India. He also delivered a lecture at the Department of Biochemistry, Lucknow University in Lucknow, India on February 11, 2017. 

Dr. Leff

Dr. Richard Leff received a $2.5 million grant from CPRIT to fund the North Texas Pharmacology Cancer Core in Dallas, TX.

Dr. Kalkunte Srivenugopal

Dr. Kalkunte Srivenugopal received a $1.2 million CPRIT Grant.

New Grants and Awards - 2016/2017

Dr. Paul Trippier received award from Leukemia Texas. 

Dr. Abraham Al-Ahmad recieved award from GLUT1 Deficiency Foundation.

Dr. Ulrich Bickel received award from Therachon. 

   Clinical Research Institute Presentation     

Writing a Research Manuscript

Statistical Analysis and Tips for Designing a Clinical Study

Nuts and Bolts of CRI and IRB

Protocol Development for a Clinical Research Study

CRI Presentation from 10/13/16


High Impact Publications

Cancer Research Cover

Dr. Sanjay K. Srivastava, Professor of Biomedical Sciences and Associate Dean for Office of Sciences, and his team's recent publication, "Penfloridol: An Antipsychotic Agent Suppresses Metastatic Tumor Growth in Triple-Negative Breast Cancer by Inhibiting Integrin Signaling Axis."  Cancer Research, 76, 877-890, 2016. (Impact Factor  9.329) PMID: 26627008

Metastasis of breast cancer, especially to the brain, is the major cause of mortality. The inability of anticancer agents to cross the blood-brain-barrier represents a critical challenge for successful treatment.  In the current study, Dr. Srivastava and his team investigated the antimetastatic potential of penfluridol, an antipsychotic drug frequently prescribed for schizophrenia with anticancer activity. His group demonstrated that penfluridol induced apoptosis and reduced the survival of several metastatic triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC) cell lines and suppressed tumor growth in various models.

Can also be found at:

Media Coverage:



Dr. Magdalena Karbowniczek, Associate Professor in the Department of Immunotheapeutics and Biotechnology in Abilene, and her team’s recent publication, “Exosomes mediate the acquisition of the disease phenotypes by cells with normal genome in tuberous sclerosis complex." Dr. Karbowniczek’s laboratory studies the cellular and molecular mechanisms behind a rare disease tuberous sclerosis complex (TSC), which is caused by the inactivating mutations in tumor suppressor genes TSC1 and TSC2. The manuscript is scheduled for publication this year in the cancer journal Oncogene. (Impact Factor 8.459)... READ ARTICLE

Can also be found in BioQuick News


Download Free Adobe Reader Get Adobe Reader   Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view items marked with this icon: PDF Document Icon
Please click on the left image to download the free version.

Content updated on 12/7/16